A reminder

I think it’s important to look back every once in awhile to realize how far you’ve come. A few years ago, after a traumatic event in my life, I was dealing with some PTSD. I wrote this poem at the time:

every night a handful of pills

each one seems to numb some skill

and my mom has to foot the bill

so many drugs, i feel as if i’ll choke

they leave a chalky residue in my throat

tell me this is all an awful joke

yet here i lie awake

oh! how my stomach aches

and there’s nothing left to take

4c1fbdd5db8dc27b24146f7593511ad4

Leave a Reply

