sunday solicitude

Sundays are usually hard for me, which is pretty common I guess. Today was made better by the fact that I got to work with a new client (a 24 year old with developmental disabilities). As exhausting as that can be, I have to be so grateful for the opportunity as this job has made me a more patient, assertive and understanding person. Now that I’m home, I’m just trying to unwind and get ready for the week.

Overall, though, it’s been a really blessed weekend. Great friends and wonderful food. Also started watching a new TV show called “lie to me”–super interesting!

On a completely different note, there is something that I have been wondering about lately. I have been reading several Thich Nhat HaNh books and articles–so enlightening and simple to read. I recommended at least reading one of his books in your lifetime. Anyways, there are several quotes which I’ve been reflecting on. Here is one I’ve been thinking about a lot: “When another person makes you suffer, it is because he suffers deeply within himself, and his suffering is spilling over. He does not need punishment; he needs help. That’s the message he is sending.”

I’m starting to understand that. I also understand that forgiveness is something that is important and beneficial for yourself and your mental health. So let’s say somebody makes you suffer. You understand that they themselves are suffering. You forgive them so you can move on in your life. THEN HOW DO YOU ACT TO THEM IN THE FUTURE? I feel like no matter what, I always act a little cold and guarded after something disappointing happens. I don’t feel like it would justified to act like nothing happened. Would you just simply tell them that they hurt you and then try to move on? I don’t get it yet but I’m working on it! As always, let me know your thoughts.

One thought on “sunday solicitude

Leave a Reply

